Busy Little Bee

It’s been a busy week for me this week.  All my free time has been taken up with cake making and decorating.

Baby shower blocks

A while ago I saw a cake design for some baby blocks from both Faye Cahill and my copy of  the Confetti Cakes Book and I’d been wanting to make it, but with no kids of my own I had to wait for the right opportunity to come along.  So I was very excited when a friend who’s pregnant and lives in Adelaide said she was coming to Sydney to have her baby shower 🙂

I started off with a 20cm square white chocolate mudcake with white chocolate ganache. I then split it into 3 layers, cut it up and shaped it into 4 blocks (I only used the 3 best ones) then covered it with ready to roll icing.  And thanks to my friend, Miss P, I’ve been introduced to Bakels RTR icing.  This stuff is FABULOUS!!  Previously I’d only worked with the Orchard’s brand of RTR fondant as it was very easy to get (available in supermarkets) and not too expensive.  Miss P need fondant for a birthday cake, cupcakes and cookies she was making for her son’s birthday and could only buy the Bakels fondant in a 7kg block.  So as I was about to buy some Orchard’s fondant, I thought I’d take the punt and buy some Bakels off her.

Like I said, this stuff is faaabulous!  Very pliable, not very sticky when being rolled out, doesn’t crack when you roll it out and pick it up, doesn’t dry out too quickly and if it does start to get dry, just needs a little bit of a knead in your warm hands to get it back to lovely soft icing.   I think I’m in love ❤

2 B or not 2 B

Anyways, I think I’ve digressed a little.  The cake design wasn’t terribly hard, but if definitely pays to spend a lot of time on the ganaching stage to ensure smooth surfaces for the fondant to go on to.

Mum-to-be was very chuffed and hopefully had a block left to take back to daddy-to-be in Adelaide.

Not ready to give up my day job just yet...

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 00:19:41

    That RTR icing sounds great! Do you know where we can buy it in Sydney? Oh and you mentioned that Golden Book on my blog. I had that one too (although I can’t remember the name)!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

